Accepted as phpMyAdmin Contract Developer!

I had taken a long break from posting, my last post being about my inclusion into the phpMyAdmin’s development team and its Project Leadership Committee (PLC).

I am writing this post to share a great news that I have been accepted for the position of Contract Developer at phpMyAdmin and would be starting the contract work from tomorrow i.e. September 1st, 2016.

The original notification that phpMyAdmin is looking to hire a contract developer for working on the project’s code was posted on June 9th, 2016. I had made an application for the position (I was temporarily removed from the phpmyadmin’s mail alias, so that the application process is completely fair for all applicants). I got a confirmation of my selection from Tony Sebro at Conservancy on June 15th.

The date of commencement of the contract is September 1st, 2016 and the contract spans for 1 year. My time would be divided amongst variety of tasks with major focus on bug-fixing and refactoring of the codebase, while I would occasionally deal with the security issues that are raised through our security team. I may also take up implementation of some small new features as and when the time permits. I would be posting weekly reports (as I did in my GSoC 2015) here on the blog describing my work during a particular week.

Madhura and Michal both have (Michal is currently working, too) previously worked as Contract developer’s at phpMyAdmin and they surely have set high standards of work. I would surely try to match their set standards.

I am excited and nervous to begin the journey. Wish me luck! 🙂

About Deven Bansod

I am a final year undergraduate student pursuing B.E.(Hons.) Computer Science Engg. + M.Sc.(Hons.) Economics(Dual Degree) at BITS Pilani, Pilani (India). I am interested in and have been contributing to development of PHP-based Open Source organisations. More recently, I have been contributing to phpMyAdmin, a web interface to MySQL, written in PHP.

Posted on September 1, 2016, in Contract Weekly Report, phpMyAdmin, Re-Start and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

