phpMyAdmin – A new Beginning in Open Source Contributions!

Hi all,

I am back after a long time once again. After a series of bug fixes for WordPress Meta, I have recently started to contribute to phpMyAdmin project. I will continue contributing to WordPress as well but for now, I am excited about phpMyAdmin.

phpMyAdmin provides a web interface to MySQL and is widely famous for its use on servers and hosts. It has variety of features and is easily a great alternative to the normal command-line interface as well as the MySQL workbench, which is only a desktop application.

phpMyAdmin uses sourceforge for their bug and RFE tracking and git for code management. I recently fixed 1-2 bugs and implemented 2 features for them. I am looking to increase my contribution, understand the code-base and submit a proposal in GSoC 2015 with phpMyAdmin.

I will be posting the proposal here on the blog as well. But for now, mid-sems starting this Monday! So let’s hope for the best!

Bye.

Link to Github Org : https://github.com/phpmyadmin/phpmyadmin/

Link to sourceForge project :  http://sourceforge.net/p/phpmyadmin/

Link to GSoC 2015 : https://www.google-melange.com/gsoc/homepage/google/gsoc2015

About Deven Bansod

I am a recent graduate with a dual degree in B.E.(Hons.) Computer Science Engg. and M.Sc.(Hons.) Economics from BITS Pilani, Pilani (India). I am interested in and have been contributing to development of free and open source software s (FOSS). More recently, I have been contributing to phpMyAdmin, a web interface to MySQL, written in PHP. I'm looking for opportunities to contribute to interesting open-source softwares.

Posted on March 7, 2015, in phpMyAdmin, Re-Start and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

