WordPress Development Re-started!

Hello Happy New Year! 

Here I am again! Back again after a long time!

After my application( failed though! ) in last year’s GSoC 2014 with WordPress, I was almost cut off from the community and development due to some other commitments. But when I used WordPress in December 2014 while revamping the Society for Students’ Mess Services, BITS Pilani’s website, that spark came back to me.

I wondered how simple and beautiful the software is and thought I should contribute to it! And being a Developer myself, Core seemed to be a valid option but this time I chose Meta as last year I had applied for the WordCamp.org’s project and I still felt something for it !


I made a new year resolution that I would now onwards try to be an active contributor to it. And here I am after a fortnight. I have a patch accepted !

I started with the good-first-bugs from Meta Trac and picked a Ticket which did not have a Patch yet and I landed upon #558. It was about adding a Country Question Type in the Camptix Plugin which already had other common question types.

First patch was slightly bad but from the directions of Ian Dunn I overcame them and submitted a second patch which (with slight changes) is accepted now!

Hoping to continue with more patches and tests in upcoming weeks. ! 🙂

Cheers!

About Deven Bansod

I am a recent graduate with a dual degree in B.E.(Hons.) Computer Science Engg. and M.Sc.(Hons.) Economics from BITS Pilani, Pilani (India). I am interested in and have been contributing to development of free and open source software s (FOSS). More recently, I have been contributing to phpMyAdmin, a web interface to MySQL, written in PHP. I'm looking for opportunities to contribute to interesting open-source softwares.

Posted on January 17, 2015, in Re-Start, WordPress Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

