Holidays near end ! Exciting New Semester Ahead !

Hello. Happy New  Year.
I am back after a little time. Had my real brother’s engagement on 5th Jan to attend, so was mostly busy in that.

As the Days are going past, The day to go back to Pilani are nearing. The Sadness feeling of leaving the Family once again for a span of 4.5 Months is also accompanied by the excitement of the new semester are blending in quite well.

As these holidays near end, I go back in time and review how the last 1 month has shaped for me.
It all started with getting 3 small Python Project ideas and materializing them into small scripts(mentioned later in this post) . That was followed by some work on my first and simple widget for WordPress which I could not complete due to other commitments. The Other commitments were mainly of the SSMS* work. The SSMS Software is based on VB.NET. I had thought that Professional world does not use much of VB.NET when Visual C# is available but I was proved wrong. So getting used to the syntax, the events , interaction with Databases, Writing to Text file Logs and understanding the overall working of the Software is taking me some time and I am willing to devote it because anyways I have to understand the code so as to debug it in some case.

The Current Database structure has been almost 10 years old and has been done in Oracle XE and is supported on 32bit Architecture only. We are now planning to shift to MySQL server with a new better Database structure which will incorporate the recent changes and will also be supported on 64bit. I have voluntarily taken up the work of converting the statements interacting with Oracle SQL to those which interact with MySQL. Working on this has helped my understanding of the software alot. Constantly seeing the SQL Statements in various forms has helped alot too.

Anyways as I mentioned earlier, I tried to write a few simple scripts in Python. I will mention briefly about 2 of them here. Its called Mp3-Album-Tagger. It searches for Mp3s in various folders present in the directory where It is kept and renames its Album Tag as the name of the folder the Mp3 is present in.

The second one was for my friends’ Startup of whose technical team I am a part of too. Its about Data driven Decisions. So while collecting addresses of the sample set we wanted to have their GPS Locations (Latitude,Longitude) instead. So I wrote a Script which Takes in a csv file with the addresses and goes to a website which converts the Addresses to GPS Locations and Returns a csv file with the respective GPS Locations. (- Made use of Splinter Module for Python).

You can find these scripts and my plugins for WordPress at my GitHub Repository : http://www.github.com/devenbansod

Here I take your leave. Hope this semester proves to be nice. Looking forward to it. Bbye till the next post. 🙂 🙂
SSMS – Students’ Society for Mess Services.

About Deven Bansod

I am a final year undergraduate student pursuing B.E.(Hons.) Computer Science Engg. + M.Sc.(Hons.) Economics(Dual Degree) at BITS Pilani, Pilani (India). I am interested in and have been contributing to development of PHP-based Open Source organisations. More recently, I have been contributing to phpMyAdmin, a web interface to MySQL, written in PHP.

Posted on January 8, 2014, in Re-Start and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

