My Project While Learning PHP, MySQL and Stuff…

Hii All
I started to learn PHP, MySQL after I got in touch with HTML-CSS(where I created a simple site with CSS for Maharashtra Mandal ,BITS Pilani though it was never used 😛 ).
The Login form had always excited me. I learnt how it worked and found out what I would have to learn to make one myself. I found many options available to me such as Ruby on Rails, Python – Django and PHP.


I knew that PHP is used in WordPress and Facebook and I quickly picked it up. I started to explore various functions and tools available to me in PHP and completed a basic understanding within a few days time.
I needed a sort of project to work upon to learn the advanced stuff through hands-on usage. After many days of thought, I first made a simple login system which I had in mind even before starting PHP. But this was not enough. I had to work upon something substantial.
Then I picked up the task of creating a Blogging Site(a CMS) where you could go register and Get yourself a free(and very simple Plain Text Blog unlike WP). I started working on it where first one week went on in Planning exactly what and how to do. Planning of what would be my functions to How would be my Database structure and all.

But after almost 20 days of hard-work in working College days, I completed the work for the site and made it live on my IP on the BITS Pilani’s LAN. Basically, I sent out the address to some good web developers I knew on campus and to all my friends for suggestions and I am happy that I got to learn more through their suggestions and got to know where exactly was I lacking. Got some bugs that I removed thereafter.

Overall It was a nice experience to work on it and got to learn alot.

P.S : I had named it “BlogSpace”

About Deven Bansod

I am a recent graduate with a dual degree in B.E.(Hons.) Computer Science Engg. and M.Sc.(Hons.) Economics from BITS Pilani, Pilani (India). I am interested in and have been contributing to development of free and open source software s (FOSS). More recently, I have been contributing to phpMyAdmin, a web interface to MySQL, written in PHP. I'm looking for opportunities to contribute to interesting open-source softwares.

Posted on December 22, 2013, in Re-Start and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

