A Second Simple Plugin For WordPress

I had written about my First Plugin in the previous post. I obviously made some changes in that with further Checkouts and Commits.
After this, I started to work upon a New Plugin named ‘Blog_Tools’ similar to the First, but with more Flexibility and more options. This Plugin would not only show the ‘No. of Views of a Post/Page‘ but also the the ‘Last-Viewed-time‘. In the admin-dashboard, It also shows the ‘ip of the last viewer‘ for all the posts and pages.

The main reason behind showing the ‘Last-Viewed-time’ is to provide the Admin/User with a tool to guess the LifeTime of the post. He can ascertain that his posts tend to go down in popularity after so and so days.

Also the comparing the Last viewer IP of different posts regularly can help the admin to know the behavior of his viewers/readers as to how many other posts do they checkout on his blog after they have read one of them.

I have some additions to make to the functionality of the Plugin that I will make in future commits to make it more usable and more helpful.

But the main thing that is bothering me now is that I am concentrating only on Plugin-ideas related to Blogs and Bloggers. I need to improve my thinking that WordPress is a CMS. You can make anything out of it. Now I will surely try to come up with something different than these two.
Hope It turns out well.
Will keep you posted.

The Link to the Plugin : www.wordpress.org/plugins/blog-tools

About Deven Bansod

I am a recent graduate with a dual degree in B.E.(Hons.) Computer Science Engg. and M.Sc.(Hons.) Economics from BITS Pilani, Pilani (India). I am interested in and have been contributing to development of free and open source software s (FOSS). More recently, I have been contributing to phpMyAdmin, a web interface to MySQL, written in PHP. I'm looking for opportunities to contribute to interesting open-source softwares.

Posted on December 19, 2013, in Re-Start and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

